

## PRESS RELEASE

## MINISTERS RESPONSIBLE FOR GENDER AND WOMEN'S AFFAIRS IN SADC WILL MEET TO DISCUSS IMPLEMENTATION OF PROGRAMMES AND INTERVENTIONS ON GENDER AND WOMEN'S AFFAIRS

**31 May 2024, Gaborone, Botswana:** The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Committee of Ministers Responsible for Gender and Women's Affairs will meet virtually, on 07 June 2024 to review progress in the implementation of the SADC Gender Programme for 2023/2024.

The Ministers will discuss and make decisions on the following issues related to implementation of the SADC Protocol on Gender and Development: Gender mainstreaming in SADC; implementation of the Women's Economic Empowerment Program; Women, Peace and Security Agenda; Women in Politics and Decision-Making Positions; and progress in efforts towards addressing gender-based violence (GBV) in the SADC region.

Honourable Ana Paula da Silva Do Sacramento Neto, Minister of Social Action, Family and Promotion of Women, of the Republic of Angola and Chairperson of the SADC Ministers Responsible for Gender and Women's Affairs will be presiding over the meeting. The Chairperson will be supported by His Excellency Mr. Elias Magosi, SADC Executive Secretary.

The meeting of the Committee of SADC Ministers Responsible for Gender and Women Affairs will be preceded by the meeting of SADC Senior Officials Responsible for Gender and Women's Affairs on 05 - 06 June 2024.

## For enquiries:

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; <u>blopi@sadc.int</u> or Ms. Anethe Mtambanengwe, email <u>amtambanengwe@sadc.int</u> or email <u>prinfo@sadc.int</u>.

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

31<sup>st</sup> May, 2024