• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • SADC to convene meeting of the Joint Committee of Ministers of Transport, ICT, Information and Meteorology on 9 July, 2021
  • NEWS

    5 Jul, 2021

    SADC to convene meeting of the Joint Committee of Ministers of Transport, ICT, Information and Meteorology on 9 July, 2021

    The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will on 9th July, 2021 hold the meeting of the Joint Committee of Ministers of Transport, Information Communication and Technology (ICT), Information and Meteorology to discuss sectoral issues of infrastructure development in support of regional integration and development of the SADC region.

    In the transport sector, the Ministers will, among the key issues, consider and discuss the reports of the SADC Civil Aviation Committee, SADC Roads, Road Transport and Traffic Committee and SADC Railways Committee. The discussion are aimed at accelerating the development of transport infrastructure in all modes and regional corridors, harmonisation of transport  laws, regulations and standards and liberalisation of the sector for better performance. In addition Ministers will review progress on implementation of regional guidelines and measures to respond to COVID19 which has disputed our integration and economic development programmes especially trade facilitation.

    On ICT, the Ministers will discuss issues aimed at ensuring enhanced information and communication technologies including SADC Broadband Targets 2025, Approaches to Universal Access and Service, Framework for Establishing the SADC Regional Computer Incident Response Teams (CIRT), SADC Framework for a Shared Satellite System and Status of Regional Internet Exchange Points (RIXPs).

    The Ministers will also discuss harmonisation of various strategies on Meteorology, the work of the SADC Climate Services Centre (CSC), sustainability of the Southern Africa Regional Climate Outlook Forum (SARCOF), the Satellite and Weather Information for Disaster Resilience in Africa (SAWIDRA) Project, the Intra-ACP Climate Services and related Application (ClimSA) Programme , World Meteorological Organisation/International Civil Aviation Organization Quality Management System in SADC National Meteorological Services, and issues of cooperation between SADC and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and its Regional Institutions.

    SADC’s Transport, ICT, Information and Meteorology sectors are some of the key pillars of the SADC Regional Infrastructure Development Master Plan (RIDMP) and the SADC Infrastructure Vision 2027 which recognise infrastructure as the bedrock of economic development and the deepening of regional integration. 

    Guided by the RIDMP, the SADC Transport Sector strives for an efficient transport system to facilitate trade, socio-economic ties and regional integration. The ICT Sector aims to develop the information and communications sector through expanded voice telephony, undersea fibre optic cables, and constant worldwide Internet access to allow immediate global contact and transfer of information. The SADC Meteorological Sector works in partnership with the World Meteorological Organisation to mitigate the risks of changes in weather patterns that can affect key industries such as agriculture and power generation for the region to accelerate regional integration and economic development.

    The Ministers Meeting will be preceded by the meeting of Senior Officials to he held from 6 to 8 July, 2021. For media enquiries contact the following at the SADC Secretariat;Ms. Joy Phiri email jphiri@sadc.int or Mr. Innocent Mbvundula imbvundula@sadc.int   


    SADC in Brief       

    SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference and later in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

    Issued by the SADC Secretariat                    5 July, 2021, Gaborone, Botswana

    Tweet This Article!