• Home
  • SADC Secretariat
  • Directorates & Units
  • Directorates & Units

    The  revised SADC Organisational Structure of SADC was approved in 2008 then in 2016. In this structure Directorates and Units of SADC are organised into three major groups, each under the responsibility of a member of the SADC Executive:


    The Directorates and Units of SADC are arranged into eight (8) directorates, and eight (8) stand-alone units responsible for cross-cutting issues, established by the Council of Ministers as provided for by Article 15 (4 & 5) of the SADC Treaty. Each Directorate is led by a Director - also part of the SADC Management Team - and supported by Senior Programme Officers. Each Unit is led by a Senior Officer.

    Executive Secretary

    The Executive Secretary of the SADC Secretariat has overall responsibility for the management of the Secretariat, supported by two deputies. The Executive Secretary also directly manages:

    • Directorate: Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Affairs - together with the head of the Organ Troika is an instrument for ensuring and supporting the political and socio-economic security and safety ofthe Southern African region.
    • Gender Unit – tasked with mainstreaming gender perspectives and concerns in all SADC policies, plans and programmes
    • Internal Audit Unit & Risk Management – an internal, independent and objective oversight unit tasked evaluating and improving the effectiveness of SADC's risk management, control, and governance processes.
    • Macro-economic Convergence Surveillance Unit - coordinating macro-economic surveillance processes and providing policy guidance to Member States.
    • Communication & Public Relations Unit - striving to establish and maintain lines of communication, mutual understanding, acceptance and co-operation between SADC and its internal and external public/stakeholders.
    • Legal Unit – guiding SADC in the application and interpretation of SADC legal regimes including the SADC Treaty, SADC Protocols and legal instruments and the application and interpretation of international law.



    Regional Integration

    The Deputy Executive Secretary: Regional Integration is responsible for five Directorates that work in SADC’s main Regional Integration themes:

    Corporate AFFAIRS

    The Deputy Executive Secretary: Corporate Affairs is responsible for two Directorates and two units:           

    • Directorate: Budget and Finance - providing financial administration and risk management services to the operations of the SADC Secretariat.
    • Directorate: Human Resources and Administration – providing and supporting the operations of SADC Secretariat through the management of human resources, procurement of goods and services, and management of physical assets.
    • Conference Services Unit - providing support to SADC Policy and other meetings in terms of documentation, translation, interpretation services, conference facilities and scheduling of meetings.
    • Procurement Unit - responsible for all aspects of procurement within the SADC Secretariat, through the administration of tender opportunities and ensuring adherence to the SADC Procurement Policy and all supporting
    • Information and Communication Technologies Unit – guiding the adoption of Information and Communications Technologies within SADC and supporting the implementation of the technological aspects of the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan.