

# **MEDIA RELEASE**

## **Announcement of 2020 SADC Media Awards Winners**

**15**<sup>th</sup> **August, 2020, Gaborone, Botswana:** The Secretariat of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 SADC Media Awards, following meeting of the Regional Adjudication Committee (RAC) held from 23 to 24, June 2020.

The first prize and second prize winners of the awards in the four categories namely; Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism are follows:

## First prize (US\$2500) winners

| CATEGORY   | NAME OF<br>JOURNALIST                 | DESCRPTION OF ENTRY  | MEMBER<br>STATE |
|------------|---------------------------------------|--|-----------------|
| Television | Mr. Ananiya<br>Alick Ponje            | His entry focused on how Mozambicans who left their country because of civil disorder were welcomed in Malawi.   | Malawi          |
| Radio      | Mr. Aristides<br>Kito Afonso<br>Jorge | His radio entry highlighted how the <i>Cuito Cuanavale Statue</i> as a world heritage site in Angola, , can promote SADC regional integration and development. | Angola          |
| Print      | Mr Prosper<br>Ndlovu                  | His entry focused on the power supply gap within the SADC region and how this impacted negatively on productive sectors of SADC Member States                  | Zimbabwe        |
| Photo      | Mr Godfrey<br>Mpuse                   | His photo entry highlighted Botswana's support to Mozambique following the occurrence of Cyclone Idai.   | Botswana        |

### Second prize (US\$1000) winners

| CATEGORY   | NAME OF JOURNALIST                          | DESCRPTION OF ENTRY   | MEMBER<br>STATE |
|------------|---|---|-----------------|
| Television | Ms. Pennipher<br>Vida Sikainda-<br>Nyirenda | Her entry titled; SADC Seed Bank – the silent catalyst to food security, highlighted how genebanks work and contribute to food security in the SADC region.             | Zambia          |
| Radio      | Mr. Mosotho<br>Stone                        | His entry focused on elections held in eight (8) SADC Member States in 2019. The entry analysed democratic systems that were applied in the conduct of these elections. | South Africa    |
| Print      | Mr. Bento<br>Venâncio                       | His entry highlighted the need for investment in water collection and storage-related infrastructure in   | Mozambique      |

|       |                                 | the SADC region, especially after the occurrence of Cyclone Idai, which affected Malawi Mozambique and Zimbabwe. |        |
|-------|---------------------------------|--|--------|
| Photo | Mr Santos<br>Makuntima<br>Pedro | His photo entry highlighted regional unity during the commemoration of the Southern Africa's Liberation Day      | Angola |

The SADC Secretariat congratulates all the winners for winning the 2020 Media Awards and for promoting SADC regional integration, cooperation and development. The Secretariat further encourages journalists in the SADC region to participate in this annual SADC Media Awards competition which is launched every year in September.

The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional co-operation and integration in the Region.

More information on the SADC Media Awards can be accessed from our website: https://www.sadc.int/media-centre/competitions-and-awards/media-awards/

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

#### SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference and later in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

#### For enquiries:

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations or Mr. Innocent Mbvundula, Communication and Relations Officer (External) at the SADC Secretariat; email blopi@sadc.int or imbvundula@sadc.int

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana 15<sup>th</sup> August 2020,