

PRESS RELEASE

Ministers Responsible for Education and Training and Science and Technology in SADC to Meet and Review Progress on the Implementation of Programmes

14 June 2022, Gaborone, Botswana:

The Ministers responsible for Education and Training and Science, Technology and Innovation (ET-STI) from the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Member States will meet in Lilongwe, Malawi on 17 June 2022 to review progress on the implementation of ongoing programmes and initiatives in the Education and Training and Science, Technology and Innovation sectors.

The Ministers will review the progress on the implementation of the *Protocol on Science*, *Technology and Innovation* which aims to foster cooperation and promote the development and transfer of science, technology and innovation (STI) within Member States among other key agenda items. The Hon. Agnes NyaLonde, Minister of Education of the Republic of Malawi will Chair the Meeting in her capacity as the Chairperson.

In tracking the progress in the implementing of the Protocol, the Ministers will take note of the Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Framework for Protocol on Science, Technology and Innovation, the Implementation of SADC Cyber-Infrastructure Framework, the SADC Science, Technology and Innovation Measurement, and update on the Regional Indigenous Knowledge Systems Programme. Further to this they will review the implementation of the SADC Charter on Women in Science, Engineering and Technology aimed at strengthening the regions ability to collaborate in science, technology and innovation and promote women's access to science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. As part of implementing the SADC Protocol on Education and Training, the Ministers will review the progress and way forward on the Draft Report on the Southern African Development Community Regional Qualifications Framework (SADCQF).

The Meeting of the Ministers responsible for Education and Training and Science, Technology and Innovation will be preceded by the Meeting of SADC Senior Officials for Education and Training and Science, Technology and Innovation on the 14-16 June 2022.

For enquiries:

Mrs. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; blopi@sadc.int or Ms. Nelao Sheila Haimbodi, email nhaimbodi@sadc.int or email prinfo@sadc.int

.....

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat 14th June, 2022 Gaborone, Botswana