

PRESS RELEASE

SADC TO HOLD A JOINT MEETING OF MINISTERS RESPONSIBLE FOR AGRICULTURE AND FOOD SECURITY, FISHERIES AND AQUACULTURE

10 May 2022, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will on 13th May, 2022 hold a Joint Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Agriculture and Food Security, Fisheries and Aquaculture in Lilongwe, Republic of Malawi.

The objective of the meeting is to follow up on the decisions of SADC Summit, Council of Ministers and the Sectoral Committee of Ministers responsible for Agriculture and Food Security, Fisheries and Aquaculture. The meeting will specifically review the food security situation following challenges experienced by the region with regards to excess rains that caused flooding in some parts, cyclones and drought in others; outbreaks of transboundary animal and plant pests and diseases; and developments in the fisheries and aquaculture sector.

The meeting will review the implementation of the Regional Agricultural Policy (RAP) and its related programmes including food security, livestock, crops and fisheries and aquaculture; as well as review programmes of work of the SADC Plant Genetics Resources Centre (SPGRC) and Centre for Coordination of Agriculture Research and Development in Southern Africa (CCARDESA).

Ministers will also deliberate on programmes of regional dimension in support of the implementation of the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) 2020-2030 and the SADC Vision 2050 particularly programmes for the development of Agriculture and Food Security, Fisheries and Aquaculture sectors.

The Joint Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Agriculture and Food Security, Fisheries and Aquaculture, will be preceded by the meeting of the SADC Senior Officials responsible for Agriculture and Food Security, Fisheries and Aquaculture to be held from 10 - 12 May 2022.

For media enquiries:

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; <u>blopi@sadc.int</u> or Mr. Letso S. Mpho, email <u>Impho@sadc.int</u> or email <u>prinfo@sadc.int</u>.

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat 10th May, 2022 Gaborone, Botswana