

### PRESS RELEASE

# SADC TO HOLD 44<sup>TH</sup> SUMMIT OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT IN HARARE, REPUBLIC OF ZIMBABWE ON 17 AUGUST 2024

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will hold the 44<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government in Harare, Republic of Zimbabwe on 17 August 2024. The 44<sup>th</sup> SADC Summit will be held under the theme *"Promoting Innovation to Unlock Opportunities for Sustained Economic Growth and Development towards an Industrialised SADC."* The theme calls for the region to collectively harness science, technology and innovation to support the modernisation and industrialisation of the SADC region.

During the 44<sup>th</sup> SADC Summit, His Excellency Dr. Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, President of the Republic of Zimbabwe will take over the chairpersonship of SADC from His Excellency Mr. João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço, President of the Republic of Angola.

Among some of the key issues, the 44<sup>th</sup> SADC Summit will receive the report of the Chairperson of the Organ on Politics, Defense and Security Cooperation; review progress on the implementation of the priorities of the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) 2020-2030; receive update of the Food Security and the Impact of the El Nino-Induced Drought and floods in SADC Region; and progress on the implementation of the 43<sup>rd</sup> SADC Summit Theme which is *"Human and Financial Capital: The Key Drivers for Sustainable Industrialisation in the SADC Region"*.

The SADC Summit is responsible for the overall policy direction and control of functions of the Community, ultimately making it the policy-making institution of SADC. The Ordinary SADC Summit is held every year and is attended by Heads of State and Government from the SADC Member States.

The Opening and Closing ceremonies of the 44<sup>th</sup> SADC Summit will be broadcast live on 17 August 2024 by the Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation (ZBC) which can be accessed on Digital Satellite Television (DSTV) Channel 280. For broadcasters that would like to get the clean feed from ZBC, details on the coordinates will be provided in due course.

The 44<sup>th</sup> SADC Summit will be preceded by the following meetings.

 7<sup>th</sup> SADC Industrialisation Week, 28 July – 02 August, Harare International Conference Centre

- Senior Officials and Finance Committee Meeting, 08 -11 August, New Parliament Building
- SADC Council of Ministers Meeting, 13 14 August, New Parliament Building
- SADC and Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA) Investment Forum and Exhibition, 14 August, Harare International Conference Centre
- SADC Public Lecture, 15 August, University of Zimbabwe Diamond Lecture Theatre
- SADC Organ Troika Ministerial Committee and SADC Organ Troika Summit, 16 August, New Parliament Building
- Visit Geo Pomona Waste Management and Museum of African Liberation, 18 August

# Media enquiries - SADC Secretariat

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; blopi@sadc.int or Innocent Mbvundula, Communications and Relations Officer (External) email, imbvundula@sadc.int with a copy to prinfo@sadc.int.

# Media enquiries - Government of Zimbabwe

Mr. Richard Runyararo Mahomva Director International Communication Services SADC National Media Coordinator Ministry of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Email: <u>rasmkhonto@gmail.com</u> Tel: +263 242 764 088 Mobile: +263 719 877 809

.....

### SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

### Issued by the SADC Secretariat 30<sup>th</sup> July 2024, Gaborone, Botswana