

PRESS RELEASE

SADC to hold an Extraordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government in Harare, Zimbabwe

16 November 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will convene an Extraordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government on 20th November 2024, in Harare, Republic of Zimbabwe, to review security situation in the region, with focus on the situation in the Eastern part of the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The Summit will be chaired by His Excellency Dr. Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, President of the Republic of Zimbabwe, and Chairperson of SADC. The Summit will receive an update on the progress of the SADC Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (SAMIDRC). The SADC region deployed the SAMIDRC on 15th December 2023 on a one-year mandate as a regional response to address the security situation in the DRC and restore peace, security, and stability to pave the way for sustainable development.

The Extraordinary SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government will be preceded by the Extraordinary SADC Organ Troika Summit, which will be Chaired by H.E Dr. Hussein Ali Mwinyi, President of Zanzibar and Chairman of the Revolutionary Council representing Her Excellency Dr. Samia Suluhu Hassan, the President of the United Republic of Tanzania and Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics Defence and Security Cooperation.

The Summit will be preceded by the meetings of SADC Senior Officials, the Ministerial Committee of the Organ on Politics Defence and Security Cooperation and the SADC Council and Council of Ministers.

For more information, contact:

SADC Secretariat: Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; blopi@sadc.int or Innocent Mbvundula, Communications and Relations Officer (External) email imbvundula@sadc.int with a copy to prinfo@sadc.int

Government of the Republic of Zimbabwe: Mrs Petronellar Nyagura, the SADC National Contact Point and Chief Director: Multilateral Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. Tel: +263 719 851 233; email: nyagurapet@gmail.com; sadczim@yahoo.com.

.....

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat 16th November 2024 Gaborone, Botswana