

PRESS RELEASE

SADC Cluster Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Transport, ICT, Information and Meteorology to meet and review progress on implementation of related programmes in support of regional integration

20th **February 2025, Gaborone, Botswana:** The Southern African Development Community (SADC) Cluster Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Transport, ICT, Information, and Meteorology is scheduled to convene in Harare, Republic of Zimbabwe, on 28th February 2025. The agenda of the meeting will focus on reviewing policy and regulatory frameworks and implementation status of programmes within these respective sectors.

The Ministers will review the implementation of decisions and progress achieved since the last sectorial meeting in June 2023, as well as the implementation of the decisions from the SADC Summit of Heads of State and the SADC Council of Ministers.

Additionally, the meeting will receive progress reports on programmes and activities aligned with the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP 2020-2030) and the Short-Term Action Plan (STAP) II of the SADC Regional Infrastructure Development Master Plan (RIDMP 2012-2027).

In line with the SADC Protocol on Transport, Communication, and Meteorology, the Ministers will deliberate on strategic policy documents to create an integrated network of Transport, ICT, Information, and Meteorological Services, aimed at fostering economic growth and enhancing the quality of life for SADC citizens.

The Honourable Dr. Tatenda Anastacia Mavetera, Minister of ICT, Postal and Courier Services of the Republic of Zimbabwe will preside over the meeting as the Chairperson of the SADC Cluster Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Transport, ICT, Information and Meteorology. Ms. Angèle Makombo N'tumba, the SADC Deputy Executive Secretary responsible for Regional Integration, will attend the meeting on behalf of the SADC Executive Secretary, His Excellency Mr Elias M. Magosi.

Among others, the Ministers will review infrastructure and broadband connectivity to boost socio-economic growth, support disaster management, and improve access to public and private sector services.

The cluster meeting will also receive reports on the SADC ICT Programmes and projects including the SADC Model National Emergency Telecommunications Plan (NETP),

SADC Shared Satellite System, SADC Regional Computer Incident Response Team (CIRT), SADC Harmonised Cybersecurity Framework, SADC Internet Exchange Points SADC Roaming Project and the SADC Radio Frequency Spectrum Allocation Plan.

The Ministers will also review the implementation of the Regional Meteorology Strategy and Action Plan in line with Continental and Global strategies; and consider how National Meteorological and Hydrological Services in Member States are domesticating the regional strategy on meteorology. The meeting is aligned with the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) vision, which aims to enhance global weather, climate, and water services. By strengthening regional meteorological capabilities and early warning systems, SADC contributes to WMO's goals of protecting lives, livelihoods, and property through improved climate services and disaster resilience.

In the Transport sector, Ministers will consider strategies to advance trade facilitation along major trade corridors, with a particular emphasis on the North-South Corridor, which connects shipping ports to industrial productivity hubs.

The Cluster Meeting of Ministers responsible for Transport, ICT, Information, and Meteorology will be preceded by the following meetings:

- Meeting of Senior Officials responsible for Transport, ICT, Information, and
- Meteorology from 24th to 26th February 2025; and
- SADC High-Level Ministerial Round Table Dialogue on Infrastructure to support the North-South Corridor on 27th February 2025.

For enquiries:

Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations, email; blopi@sadc.int or Mr. Letso S. Mpho, email limpho@sadc.int or email prinfo@sadc.int.

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August, 1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone. Botswana

20th February 2025