

PRESS RELEASE

SADC Council of Ministers to meet in Harare, Zimbabwe, on 12-14 March 2025 to review progress on implementation of regional programmes

3rd **March 2025, Gaborone, Botswana** – The Ordinary Council of Ministers of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) will meet on 12 and 14 March 2025 in Harare, Republic of Zimbabwe.

Honourable Professor Amon Murwira, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade of the Republic of Zimbabwe will in his capacity as the current Chairperson of the SADC Council of Ministers host the meeting.

The SADC Council of Ministers oversees the function and development of SADC and ensures that policies and decisions are implemented accordingly. The Council consists of Ministers from each of the 16 SADC Member States; usually from the Ministries responsible for Foreign Affairs and International Relations, Economic Planning Finance or Trade, and meets twice a year in March, and August.

The Ministers will review the implementation of Council and Summit Decisions; and the theme for the 44th SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government which is "Promoting Innovation to Unlock Opportunities for Sustained Economic Growth and Development towards an Industrialised SADC. The Ministers will also review the SADC Annual Corporate Plan and Budget for the 2025/2026 Financial Year to interventions in support of key regional priorities outlined in the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP 2020-2030). The SADC RISDP 2020-2030 covers six strategic priority areas namely: the Foundation: Peace, Security, and Good Governance; Pillar I: Industrial Development and Market Integration; Pillar II: Infrastructure Development in Support of Regional Integration; Pillar III: Social and Human Capital Development; and cross-cutting issues of Gender, Youth, Environment and Climate Change, and Disaster Risk Management.

The Ordinary SADC Council of Ministers will be preceded by the meetings of the SADC Senior Officials who will review the Mid-term implementation of the RISDP 2020-2030 on 4 – 5 March 2025, the SADC Standing Committee of Senior Officials on 6-7 March 2025, and the meeting of the Finance Committee on 8 March 2025.

Enquiries - SADC Secretariat: Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communications and Public Relations Unit, SADC Secretariat; email blopi@dsadc.int with a copy to prinfo@sadc.int.

Enquiries - Government of Zimbabwe: Mrs Petronellar Nyagura, the SADC National Contact Point and Chief Director: Multilateral Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. Tel: +263 719 851 233; email: nyagurapet@gmail.com; sadczim@yahoo.com

About SADC

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

3rd March 2025