• Home
  • Member States
  • Seychelles
  • Seychelles


    The cosmopolitan Seychellois are a colourful and harmonious blend of different races, which stem from African, European and Asian roots all of whom have brought something of their own customs and way of life to the islands. The result is a charming Creole culture enriched from the melting pot of many continents.

    There are three official languages – English, French and Creole. Creole is spoken by everyone and is an adaptation of 17th Century French with additional words and expressions coming from African languages and from Madagascar. It has been elevated to national language status, earning the same respect as English and French. Today Creole is a written as well as a spoken language, which has resulted in an outburst of creativity in plays, poetry and prose.

    The population of Seychelles stands at 87,000 of which 78,000 live on Mahe, in particular around the capital Victoria, some 7,000 on Praslin and the remainder on La Digue and scattered among the rest of the islands.
    Roman Catholiscism is the dominant religion, but there are also Anglican and Protestant churches together with smaller Muslim, Hindu and Baha’i communities based on Mahe, Praslin and La Digue. 

    Country Profile



    Head of State

    H.E. Wavel Ramkalawan

    Head of Government ( if applicable)


    Capital City


    Independence Day

    29 June 1976

    Official Languages

    French, English,Seychellois Creole (Kreol)


    Seychellois Rupee (SCR) ( 1 Rs = 100 cents)

    Area/Size of country (km²)


    Natural resources

    fish (mostly tuna), cinnamon, copra

    Government website link


    Statistical indicators

    Please refer to the latest SADC Statistics Yearbook

    Seychelles SADC National Focal Point

    Ambassador Vivianne Fock Tave

    SADC National Contact Point

    Principal Secretary

    Department of Foreign Affairs
    Maison Queau de Quinssy
    Mont Fleuri
    P.O. Box 656
    +248 428 3505
    Fax: +248 422 48 45
    Email: vfocktave@mfagov.sc

    CC :  clency.estico@gov.sc; mconfait@gov.sc; jlouise@mfa.gov.sc

    Ms Amenda Padayachy

    Director General of the Division responsible for SADC,

    The Division of International Cooperation & Regional Intergration

    Email: apadayachy@mfa.gov.sc


    Mr Rodney Sinon

    Second Secretary

    New Desk Officer for SADC

    International Cooperation and Regional Integration Division

    Email: rsinon@mfa.gov.sc


    Ms Rebecca Julienne

    Third Secretary

    Regional Affairs Division

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Tourism

    Email: RJulienne@mfa.gov.sc


    Mr Jean-Phillip Banane

    Third Secretary & Alternate Organisation

    Manager for SADC

    Email: jpbanane@mfa.gov.sc


    H.E. Mrs Marie-Antoinette Rose-Quatre

    High Commissioner

    High Commission of the Republic of Seychelles

    Delmondo Office Park,

    Block C, Ground Floor

    169 Garsfontein Road

    Ashley Garden


    Tel: +27 12 348 0270    +27 12 346 4687

    Fax: +27 12 346 4698

    Email: sez@seychelleshc.co.za